Grundy Center Community Schools

Inaugural IGHSAU Student Athlete Advisory Committee Meets

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

The inaugural Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union Student Athlete Advisory Committee held its first meeting Wednesday, September 12 at the IGHSAU offices in West Des Moines.
The 11-member committee is comprised of female student-athletes representing various sized schools across Iowa. Two female athletes from each of the state’s four districts (NE, SE, NW, SW), along with three “at-large” representatives were selected to two-year terms and will meet on issues related to girls high school athletic activities in Iowa. Committee members act as a voice for Iowa’s female student-athletes and as a sounding board for the IGHSAU’s Representative Council and Board of Directors.

Committee members will also assist in the promotion of the educational values of interscholastic athletics. The committee will discuss and provide feedback for issues dealing with sportsmanship, safety, student leadership and participation. Committee members will also serve as student ambassadors at various state tournaments throughout the year. The IGHSAU Student Athlete Advisory Committee members for the 2018-19 school year are: Carly Campbell of Williamsburg; Jasmine Rumley of Ankeny; Sydney Hartsock of Creston; Nashua-Plainfield’s Faith Carpenter; Halle Brester of Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Payton Douglass of Panorama; Sydney Lane of Grand View Christian; Reegan Zinkula of Grundy Center, Carlee Spelhaug of Pleasant Valley; Maddie Peterson of Central DeWitt; and Riley Bell from Central Decatur.













2018-19 IGHSAU Student Athlete Advisory Committee: Front Row (L- R): Reegan Zinkula, Grundy Center; Payton Douglass, Panorama; Sydney Hartsock, Creston; Faith Carpenter, Nashua-Plainfield.Back Row (L- R): Sydney Lane, Grand View Christian; Halle Brester, Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Carli Spelhaug, Pleasant Valley; Carly Campbell, Williamsburg; Riley Bell, Central Decatur; Maddie Peterson, Central DeWitt, Jasmine Rumley, Ankeny.








Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Home of the Spartans
Inaugural IGHSAU Student Athlete Advisory Committee Meets